Brisbane Local Food

Growing local

I have two packets of excess Kefir grains to give away - currently frozen (you defrost them slowly in the fridge) if anyone is interested.

It's possible to post them if you want to pay for the costs.

Views: 693

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I have been wanting to try kefir forever!   I have currently (forever I hope) given up sugar but as I understand it the sugar is "digested by the yeasts" so doesn't count.   Anyway - a total newbie here to kefir, but would love to give it a go.  As I understand you can try the grains in milk, and then if you don't like the milk kefir you can use them in water.  Any advice you can give me will be very helpful.  I will send my address separately in an e-mail

and arrange for postage.

My understanding is that you keep 2 lots current - lot 1 sits in milk quietly growing while lot 2 does the water/coconut water and when that's finished, lot 2 goes into milk and lot 1 goes into the water. In order to keep the Kefir organisms (a symbiotic relationship between several ones) intact, they need to be fed on milk - whole milk not skim or lactose-free. Once the 'grains' have grown big enough, take some and freeze them that way you have a backup.

Even though Dominic no longer supplies grains, do go to his site and just marvel at the foods which can be made from Kefir. The cheese is particularly nice.

I am unable to send you my address, as I cant access your e-mail address until you accept my friends request.  but would love the grains.  How much is the postage - should I send you stamps?  I could also send you seeds instead/as well if you are interested in any rosella or loofa seeds. 

Hi Gillian. I have also responded on your page.

I'm still having a lot of trouble with internet connection so don't be surprised if I go quiet for up to a week at at time. They're working on fixing it :(